The 7 Chakras

This guide is a comprehensive resource on the seven chakras, including their history, meaning, and practical tips on how to balance and heal them using crystals. It also explores how chakras relate to our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being, and how we can use this knowledge to improve our lives.

Table of Contents

1. A History of the 7 Chakras

2. The 7 Different Chakras Explained

3. Healing the Chakras with Crystals

4. Check our Shop

1. A History of the 7 Chakras

Out of respect to the origins of concepts outside of the "modern western" culture, we dive into the authentic history of the 7 chakras and their origins in Ancient India in yogic practices.

Ancient India

The concept of chakras has its roots in ancient Indian spiritual traditions, specifically in the yogic tradition. The word “chakra” comes from the Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “disk”. The idea behind chakras is that there are several energy centers in the human body, each corresponding to different aspects of our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

The earliest known mention of chakras can be found in the Vedas, the oldest Hindu texts, dating back to around 1500 BCE. However, it was in the Upanishads, which followed the Vedas, that the concept of chakras was described in more detail. The Upanishads are philosophical texts that explore the nature of the universe and the human experience. They describe the seven main chakras as spinning wheels of energy, each located in a specific area of the body.

Later Development to Modern Times

It was in the later period of classical yoga, around the 6th century CE, that the chakra system became more fully developed. This was when the practice of kundalini yoga emerged, which focuses on awakening the dormant energy at the base of the spine and moving it up through the chakras to achieve spiritual enlightenment.

The idea of chakras also spread beyond India and became part of other spiritual traditions in Asia. In China, the concept of chakras was adopted and adapted to the Chinese understanding of the body's energy system, known as “qi”. In Japan, the chakra system was incorporated into Reiki, a form of energy healing that aims to balance the body's energy centers.

It wasn't until the 20th century that the concept of chakras began to gain wider acceptance in the Western world. This was largely due to the influence of Indian spirituality, as well as the growing interest in alternative forms of healing and holistic health. Today, the idea of chakras is widely recognized and has become a popular subject in books, workshops, and other forms of spiritual practice.

2. The 7 Different Chakras Explained

The yogic understanding of chakras is that each chakra is associated with a different element, color, and sound. The seven main chakras are:

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is associated with the element of earth and is linked to our sense of safety and security.

Color- Red | Element- Earth | Sound- “LAM.”

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Located in the lower abdomen, this chakra is associated with the element of water and is linked to our creativity and sexuality.

Color- Orange | Element- Water | Sound- “VAM.”

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Located in the upper abdomen, this chakra is associated with the element of fire and is linked to our sense of self-esteem and personal power.

Color- Yellow | Element- Fire | Sound- “RAM.”

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Located in the center of the chest, this chakra is associated with the element of air and is linked to our capacity for love and compassion.

Color- Green | Element- Air | Sound- “YAM.”

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Located in the throat, this chakra is associated with the element of ether (or space) and is linked to our ability to communicate and express ourselves.

Color- Blue | Element- Ether | Sound- “HAM.”

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Located between the eyebrows, this chakra is associated with the element of light and is linked to our intuition and spiritual insight.

Color- Indigo | Element- Light | Sound- “OM.”

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Located at the top of the head, this chakra is associated with the element of thought and is linked to our sense of unity and connection to the divine.

Color- Violet/White | Element- Space | Sound- SILENCE

Each chakra is also associated with different crystals, which can be used to help balance and activate the energy centers. For example, the root chakra is associated with red stones such as garnet and red jasper,

3. Healing the Chakras with Crystals

Crystals are Powerful Tools when Working with Chakras

Using crystals to heal or balance chakras is a powerful and effective way to enhance your overall well-being. Crystals have unique vibrational frequencies that can help restore balance to the energy centers in your body.

To use crystals for chakra healing, it's important to first identify which chakras are imbalanced or blocked. You can use a pendulum or simply tune in to your body to sense which areas need attention.

How to Heal the Chakra with Crystals

Once you have identified the imbalanced chakras, choose a crystal that corresponds to that chakra. Here are some common crystals and their corresponding chakras:

  • Root Chakra: Red jasper, black tourmaline, hematite, black obsidian, bloodstone
  • Sacral Chakra: Carnelian, tiger's eye, orange calcite
  • Solar Plexus Chakra: Citrine, yellow jasper, tiger's eye, pyrite
  • Heart Chakra: Rose quartz, green aventurine, emerald

Shop Aventurine Now

  • Throat Chakra: Blue lace agate, sodalite, aquamarine
  • Third Eye Chakra: Amethyst, lapis lazuli, purple fluorite
  • Crown Chakra: Clear quartz, amethyst, selenite

Once you have chosen the appropriate crystal, you can use it in a variety of ways to balance and heal the chakra. Here are some methods:

  1. Hold the crystal in your hand and meditate on the energy of the chakra. Visualize the crystal's energy flowing into the chakra, bringing it into balance.
  2. Place the crystal directly on the chakra while lying down or sitting in a comfortable position. Allow the crystal's energy to penetrate the chakra and bring it into balance.
  3. Wear the crystal as jewelry or carry it with you in a pocket or purse to keep the energy of the chakra balanced throughout the day.
  4. Use the crystal in a crystal grid, placing it along with other chakra-specific crystals in a geometric pattern to amplify the energy and bring the chakras into balance.

Remember, crystal healing is a complementary therapy and should not be used as a substitute for medical treatment. Always consult with a healthcare professional for any medical concerns.

Shop our Crystal Collection

1 of 12

Crystal Shop

Ready to start your crystal healing journey? Visit our shop to explore our selection of high-quality crystals, including tumbled stones, raw specimens, and crystal jewelry. Each crystal is hand-selected for its unique beauty and energy, so you can be sure you're receiving the best possible healing support.

We hope this guide has been helpful in introducing you to the world of crystal healing. Remember, the key to effective crystal healing is to listen to your intuition and trust in the power of these beautiful natural tools.